What does “git merge –abort” do? – Linux Hint

When it comes to version control systems, Git is always at the top of the list. Because of its acceptability among users from multiple backgrounds, there are lots and lots of discussions on the different features that it offers, the issues that arise while using it, and also their possible solutions. There is a very commonly used operation in Git, i.e., “git merge –abort” and today, we will try to find the answer to what does the “git merge –abort” operation does.

Purpose of the “git merge –abort” Operation:

Before understanding the usage of the “git merge –abort” operation, we must realize why do we need such an operation in the first place. As you all know that Git maintains a history of all the different versions of a file or a code; therefore, the different versions that you create are known as Git commits. Also, there is a dedicated current commit, i.e., the version of the file that you are currently working on. At times, you might feel the need to merge a previously committed file with the one you are currently working on.

However, during this merging process, it can happen that any other colleague of yours is also working on the same file. He might discard the changes that you have kept or modify the lines that you have just added to the file. This scenario can lead to a merge conflict in Git. Once a merge conflict in Git arises, and you try to check the status of Git, it will display a message that a merge conflict has occurred. You will not be able to do anything with that particular file until you manage to fix that conflict.

This is where the “git merges –abort” operation comes into play. Basically, you want to go back to the old state where you can have your current version of the file unchanged, and you can start making the changes all over again. In this way, you will ensure that no such conflicts arise again in the future. So the “git merge –abort” operation essentially terminates the merger that you have just carried out and separated the two versions of your file, i.e., the current version and the older version.

In this way, the current version of your file will revert back to the same state as it was before you performed the merge operation, and hence you will be able to restore it without any potential difficulty. However, an important point to be noted here is that the “git merge –abort” operation only works if you have just merged your files and have not committed them yet. If you have already committed to this merger, then the “git merge –abort” operation will no longer serve the purpose; rather, you will have to look for other ways to undo the merger.

Conclusion:

By understanding the discussion that we did today, you will easily realize the purpose of the “git merge –abort” operation. This operation not only resolves the merge conflicts that arise before committing a merge but also helps in restoring your files to the same state in which they were before. In this way, your data is not lost, and you can conveniently start working on it all over again.

Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *